The Betta Bruschetta!

Bruschetta is made a lot of different ways. Through the years I’ve played with different recipes, and this was always my favorite. It’s simple and fresh, and soooo delicious.

A lot of people might not think of it as a fall food, but this is actually the perfect time to make it a staple in your diet. This time of year, at least around Central Pennsylvania; you can get tomatoes, onions, and garlic for almost nothing. I got 5lbs of plum tomatoes at a roadside stand the other day for $3! You don’t need THAT much for this recipe, but they’re delicious so I scooped them up-crucial information, I know!

The first thing you should know about this Bruschetta, is that it’s very important to keep the size of everything small. It’s almost like a chunky Italian salsa– though I’m not the least bit Italian, so don’t quote me on that. But you really do want to have that image in mind.

Like salsa, tomatoes are the base for Bruschetta and you want to dice them.

DSC_0504

Start small with the tomatoes and get smaller as you add other ingredients; that’s the best reference that I can give! Tomatoes really are the star here, so you want to make sure that nothing outshines them.

After the seemingly never-ending amount of tomatoes, you move onto the supporting actors; red onion, garlic, and BASILLLLLL- the most delicious herb to ever herb.

Now, anyone who has ever chopped fresh herbs knows that it is a pain. Really– it’s horrible. BUT, basil being the perfect little thing that it is, has a way of helping us out with that. If you stack the leaves and then roll them, they chop so nicely that I find it oddly satisfying.

DSC_0514

But, you want to make sure you get a little basil in every bite, so make sure it’s finely chopped up (minced, I think, is the technical term).

DSC_0515

I wish I could be a little more fancy, but I literally just toss everything into a bowl as I go. Once those ingredients are added, obviously you’ve got to toss in your standard salt and pepper. I don’t know why this needs to be added to everything but it just does, so trust me.

When I said this was simple, I meant it. All there is left to do is throw in some balsamic vinegar and olive oil, then sprinkle with your fav Parmesan and you’re done!

I almost feel bad breaking it to you that this delicious food is so simple. No one believes me when I say it takes like five minutes. They think I’m trying to be coy or something– NO, this really can be made in five minutes.

Obviously you’re going to need something to serve with it and the standard is a sliced, toasted baguette. I do recommend this because it really is amazing and simple. I always slice it on an angle because I saw it on a TV show once, and it looks super fancy. To toast, you just lay the slices on a cookie sheet and pop them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 5 minutes. And if you’re feeling lazy, you don’t have to toast it but fresh bread just retains moisture so it gets soggy.

DSC_0518

All in all, when it comes to healthy and cheap; whether it’s a dinner party or busy Tuesday night– Bruschetta has got it all!

Recipe

2 cups roma or plum tomatoes

1/2 of a red onion

3 cloves garlic (2 if they’re large)

1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

1/4 cup fresh basil

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste.

Finely chop all fresh ingredients and toss into a dish. Add oil and vinegar and mix. Top with fresh Parmesean.

Leave a Reply

