Andddd Pesto!

As you may or may not have come to realize, basil is one of my favorite things on the planet. By default, that makes pesto one of my favorite things. I feel like there is this crazy conspiracy though that makes pesto look like some lavish Italian condiment only for the rich. I don’t know if any one else truly thinks that, but I did for years so I like to think I can’t be the only one.

Keep in mind, this isn’t “traditional” pesto– so I’m sorry if I offend anyone. This is more of an easy-peasy po’ folk pesto, and the truth is; it could not be easier to make. AND it’s so versatile. I use it a lot for what my eight year old calls “fancy pizza” (regular pizza with pesto for sauce) or pasta.

First things first; you’re going to need something to combine the ingredients in. The traditional/new school “old is cool” way of doing it is using a mortar and pestle. I’ve been meaning to buy one for years, but I oddly feel like it’s a really special purchase so I want to make sure I find the perfect one. Or I could just be too cheap, the world may never know. If you have one, bust it out and be awesome. If not, most people use a food processor. I’m not smart enough to figure those things out so I use this Ninja contraption.

DSC_0630

It’s the simplest thing in the world and I use it for EV-ER-Ything. That’s for another day though. I will shamefully admit that I used to use my blender, so… whatever works. Improvisation has never failed me.

Now I’m about to blow your mind with how east this can be. Are you ready?? Take your basil- throw it in. Take your cheese- throw it in. Two cloves of garlic? THROW THEM IN. Don’t even chop them because the machine will do all the work. Add a little salt and a little pepper, a few turns around the dish of olive oil (that is a completely accurate unit of measurement by the way) and BAM, that’s it. The machine does the rest, but obviously that’s on you to figure out depending on your chosen method.

DSC_0622DSC_0642

As you can see, it’s not the prettiest thing in the world. Actually, it looks rather disgusting (and a little messy). The smell with get rid of any second guesses you might be feeling though, so close your eyes and take it in!

It’s best if you make it right before you plan to use it, but it’s fine to freeze too. Since it’s not something that’s used everyday, try to store it in the amount you plan to use. I keep it in these little glass baby food jars and they are just perfect. Small jelly jars will work too.

DSC_0650

What you do with it from there is totally up to you!

Recipe

just a reference, amounts can always vary and are best suited to fit your taste!

A couple handfuls of basil

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

2 cloves garlic

1/4 cup olive oil

salt/pepper to taste

Leave a Reply

