Garlic Bacon Brussel Sprouts

I was never a fan of Brussel Sprouts, but they’re so cheap that I decided to dabble. I figured the best way to make anything delicious was to add bacon, but I never could have imagined that these mini cabbage-looking balls could taste so good. If you’re a skeptic, it’s probably hard to believe, but just trust me.

Consider this your official introduction to the sprout of brussels:

DSC_0720

I never knew this until today, but this is how they grow. I haven’t seen them like this before, so I needed to investigate! However, I quickly learned that it was a mistake that I will not be making again. The removal process is not fun; let someone else do this.

Before you get started, preheat the oven to 350. This is to bake the sprouts later to get them nice and tender.

As far as ingredients, you want to start with the bacon because you’re going to need all that greasy goodness to flavor your sprouts. I only use about 4 slices rough chopped.

DSC_0735

I get my bacon from a local farm who raises pastured pigs, so it might look a little unappealing. The flavor, however, is truly spectacular- and it doesn’t have all the yucky stuff that pretty pink bacon does. Not everyone lives down the road from a farm though, so the main point here is to just make sure it’s the best quality bacon you can find!

You want to cook that in the pan all the way through and then remove and set aside.

At some point during the process, you are going to need to halve your sprouts. This is important because it lets them cook a little faster. As a busy mom, that’s crucial. It also helps make them a little more uniform in size.

DSC_0738

Once they’re all cut up and the bacon has been removed, throw them right in the pan with all that goodness. If you have lean bacon and there isn’t enough grease to keep them moist, add a few turns of olive oil.

DSC_0748

The ultimate goal is to get your little guys looking like this. This is the money shot. Once most of them get this brown tint, toss in the garlic and cooked bacon and give it a quick mix. Once it’s all combined, if you have an oven-safe pan just put it in the oven. If not, transfer it to an appropriate dish. I know that seems like it’s a lot, but the baking is important to really get them to the right texture.

I leave them at 350 for about 10 minutes, and when they’re done?!

DSC_0751

Pure. Heaven.

But… there’s more!

Right before you serve them, sprinkle with some fresh Parmesan and really prepare to fall in love.

DSC_0759

Recipe

2 cups halved brussel sprouts

4 slices of bacon, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 cup parmesan (optional)

Preheat oven to 350

Cook bacon in skillet until brown and remove. Place halved brussel sprouts in bacon drippings, turning to coat each piece.

When browned, add garlic and cooked bacon. Quickly toss and place in oven. Cook for 10 minutes.

Top with cheese just before serving.

2 comments on “Garlic Bacon Brussel Sprouts

  1. Confession time!! I have not eaten a brussel sprot since oh about 1989!!! They were something my mother made because she hated us…or at least that’s what I thought. So it was with much hessitation that I tried this recipe. HOLY MOLY I’m in love!!! It was soooo good even my kids at them up. Thanks for getting me to expand my veggie horizons!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

