Chicken Quesadillas

Quesadillas are one of my go-to “I hate life and never want to cook again” meals. Not only are they incredibly delicious and comforting, but they are so quick and easy. If you’re a busy person and not eating quesadillas at least twice a week; you’re living life all wrong. Or you’re just more put together than me, who knows?!

I know a lot of people think “quesadillas” and assume it entails cheese and chicken microwaved between two tortillas. But these little slices of heaven can still be easy, and actually turned into a family meal.

For starters, I always add vegetables. I think it add more flavor and it also lessens the amount of meat you need to use.. which means you save $$$.

You can use whatever you like or have on hand. I like to keep it simple and stick with peppers and onions.

DSC_1738

Just cut up your chicken into small chunks, brown it, and add the vegetables. When They’re almost done, just toss in your seasoning and mix.

I like to bake them on a cookie sheet because it gets the outside of the shells firm, and it literally takes 5 minutes to get the cheese melted.

When they’re done?

DSC_1784

Really, from start to finish, the whole process is about 15 minutes. AND it delicious and not completely terrible for you.. assuming you go light on the meat and cheese.

I don’t.

I serve them with fresh cut peppers because like I said.. these are my lazy day food and I embrace the laze. If you’re feeling fancy, rice is always nice.

Recipe 

2 chicken breasts, cubed

1/2 cup chopped onions

1/2 cup chopped peppers

1 tbsp taco seasoning (just buy it by the jar!)

2 cups shredded cheddar

8 large tortilla shells

Preheat oven to 350

Brown the chicken and then add the vegetables. Cook until tender and add taco seasoning.

Line the tortillas on your baking sheet. Layer cheese, meat/veggie mix, and more cheese. Place another shell right on top and bake for five minutes

Leave a Reply

