Eggplant Parmesan

There was a time when Eggplant Parmesan made me want to vom. I mean, Chicken parm is delectable.. who on this Earth thought it was okay to mess with that??!

Then I was 41 weeks pregnant and heard this rumor that this was some magical food that induces labor. SOLD!

The first time I made it, I was shocked at how easy it was but still a little grossed out. There was NO way this was going to be good. But for the sake of my family’s sanity (have you ever dealt with a pregnant woman?!)… I knew I had to take one for the team.

When I took the first bite, I thought.. “WTF is this? This is delicious. WHERE’D THE NASTY EGGPLANT GO?!” But it was there. And it was magical.

Needless to say, I made it an almost every night as a snack.. Kevin thought I was insane making this at 10:00 at night but I assured him it had to be done. Really, I just loved eating it and could not get enough.

For a while I chalked it up to pregnancy and knew I wouldn’t like it otherwise. But have you seen the price of chicken? Ugh. So I sucked it up and tried it again without a baby clouding up my good sense. Still.. it was awesome.

Now we make it on the reg and I solemnly swear to stay forever devoted to this amazing veggie… in this manner anyway!

Even if it failed me when I needed it most. SPOILER ALERT: it doesn’t work for inducing labor. But it sure doesn’t hurt to try. Psst.. I won’t tell your husband.

First things first (I say that a lot, huh?)… peel and slice your little eggie plant. I like to cut them in circles because it is more aesthetically pleasing. Shallow much?

DSC_0690

Keep them at about 1/4 inch in thickness. If they’re too thick, they won’t cook and if they’re too thin they’ll fall apart. Very important.

Then you are going to create a little assembly line to coat you pieces. I always soak them in a bowl of water while prepping just so that the flour sticks.

DSC_0707

There you have it; flour, eggs, and bread crumbs. Dip each piece in one after the other, making sure they’re fully coated. FYI, if you don’t have eggs, cream or buttermilk also works. I mean, if you don’t have eggs, you probably don’t have those either but I don’t know your life.

Once all your little guys are coated…

DSC_0727

Toss them into a hot pan, coated with oil. I like coconut because it cooks at a higher temp, so it doesn’t smoke.

DSC_0739

Let them cook for about 4 minutes until they’re niceeeeee and toasty brown.

Then you top.

DSC_0752

A spoonful of sauce, a handful (or two?) of cheese, and some fresh basil.. simple as that.

If you ARE pregnant, and you want this to work whatever magic it can; now is the time to LOAD on the oregano and basil. After multiple failed meals, I did a little research and found that the herbs are what work the magic. I’m not a scientist though, and google is my study buddy so I could be wrong.

After that, you want to bake it and get your noodles cooking. I use fettuccine, but whatever you got on hand is fine. Just make sure to toss it with some sauce before serving.

DSC_0770

Once your done, pile it all together and get ready to fall in loveeeeeeee. And maybe have a baby, who knows? It also goes great with wine, so there’s that.

DSC_0772

RECIPE

4 slices of eggplant (serves 4)

2 cups bread crumbs

1 cup flour

2 eggs

2 cups pasta

1 cup tomato sauce

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella

handful of fresh sliced basil

Preheat oven to 350

Peel and slice your eggplant into 1/4 circles. Soak in water for about 5 minutes.

While soaking; place flour, eggs, and breadcrumbs in separate bowls. Coat eggplant slices in each one consecutively.

Place slices into hot, oiled pan. Cook 4 minutes on each side.

Top each one with 1 tbsp of sauce and a hand full of cheese. Sprinkle on some fresh basil.

Bake for 10minutes.

Toss cooked pasta with sauce, top with eggplant and serve.

2 comments on “Eggplant Parmesan

  1. It definitely is!! It’s nice because eggplant is a really hearty vegetable, so it really resembles the taste of chicken parmesan. But it’s cheaper and super healthy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

