Stove Top Popcorn

I know what you’re thinking, “why the hell do I need a recipe for popcorn.. it’s called a microwave?”

BUT, if you read anything on the internet or have one of those crazy friends who knows believes no food is safe  (sorry!).. then you probably know that that in the microwavable bagged popcorn might be lurking some pretty yucky stuff. So, that could be a reason to consider trading in the convenience and putting in some leg work.

DSC_0233

For me, I just always thought popcorn should be a special kind of treat. I make it for the kids on movie night, and the microwave left so little suspense and excitement. I figured a good way to build it and make it really special would be to make it on my own.

Turns out it was a much harder task to break down than I thought because there is a very certain method that you have to follow so that it doesn’t burn or become soggy. Not surprisingly to some, this took me a very long time to nail down and I resorted to the microwave on a few occasions, but I wanted to help those who are also struggling learn how to become a pro-popper.

The first trick to the trade is the heat. You want it HOT. Like, you know that high setting that you’re afraid to use… that hot. It scared me at first, too, but it’s the only way to ensure proper poppage.

You also want to put the butter in the pan with the kernels, this will allow each of them to soak up the perfect amount of flavor as they pop. DO NOT listen to anyone who tells you to add butter last. I made this mistake several times, and it’s never foolproof.

DSC_0190

I also like to use cold butter because it allows more time for it to melt, so it doesn’t burn while the kernels heat up.

From here, it’s all going to go very fast so don’t go anywhere. Within just a couple minutes, it’s going to get a little crazy. Just make sure you keep the lid on the pan, and periodically lift it and swirl everything around.

You never really know when it’s going to start popping, so the suspense is pretty exciting because when it does..

DSC_0201

It just goes nuts! They will all just start popping at once, and it’s actually really thrilling. It’s most likely the reason I keep making it. You might need to hold the lid on because the kernels really fly every which way.

Or you could leave the lid off and have a really good time? I haven’t been this brave yet, but it seems like a lot of fun. Maybe in my retirement when I have time to clean….

I turn off the heat once the pan is almost full, because this means it’s almost done and you don’t want them to burn. Let them sit in the pan until the pops slow down.

You want to add the seasoning when it’s still hot, so quickly transfer to a larger bowl.

DSC_0214

Sprinkle your salt and spices right over top and mix up with your hands. The best part about this recipe is that the popcorn is not greasy. It actually is really clean to eat, but the butter flavor is still there.

DSC_0220

My husband was a skeptic and refused to eat it for the longest time because there was no way I would be able to capture the ideal flavors… but I did. And now he is a believer!

Recipe

1/4 cup popcorn kernels

2 tbsp cold butter

1 tsp each; salt, garlic power, onion powder

Place butter and kernels in a medium sauce pan over HIGH heat and cover. Kernels should just cover the bottom of the pan.

About once every minute while they heat, lift the pan and swirl it around to incorporate the two.

After about 4 minutes, the kernels will start popping. Turn off the heat when pan becomes about half full-this will ensure it does not burn.

As soon as popping seems to slow, remove from heat and transfer to a large mixing bowl. While still hot, sprinkle seasoning over the popcorn and mix well with your hands.

Leave a Reply

