Times, They Are Changin’

First and foremost, I want to thank you all for being a part of this adventure! It means the world to me to hear that people actually get some enjoyment out of what I’m able to provide through this blog, and I look forward to aiding you all in becoming better (maybe?), or more creative home cooks!

When I started this endeavor, I didn’t know what I was doing and tried to pick a pretty generic “theme” based on my style of culinary. I chose Mamish because I thought it best reflected who I was in this sense. In the past few months though, I have been working on finding my voice and hoping that what this blog was meant to be would just sort of come to me.

Throughout almost each post, I cringe and wonder if any of what I say would be acceptable in the Amish and Mennonite (and the occasional Weight Watchers) cookbooks that I grew up reading. I find myself deleting things I find really enjoyable and adapting them to suit the voice I feel best reflects the ideology that I originally thought I wanted to project.

But one day something came to me; this is NOT one of my grandma’s cookbooks. And I never want it to become that.

I want to create an environment that is conducive to the type of person that I am. I’m witty and sarcastic, and I really like making references to bad movies and 90’s rap music. I believe that cooking should be FUN and exciting and I want to make every single reader feel that enthusiasm when preparing a recipe.

SO, for those reasons… I believe that I have finally¬†found my niche and as of January 3rd, Mamish will (fittingly) become titled “Not Your Momma’s Cookbook.”

I even paid for the domain, so it’s pretty official.

It’s a mouthful, but there is nothing better to describe what we are doing here. Originally, I felt that I needed to follow a certain standard and reflect what people wanted to hear. But just like it’s no longer 1992 (although I blast Achy Breaky Heart like it is….), we no longer have to conform to one certain genre.

Instead, we are allowed to be who we are and enjoy things in a different way. That is what I hope to give to you, and I hope that you all stick with me through this. I’ve got tons of great stuff in the works that I absolutely CANNOT wait to share with you.

2 comments on “Times, They Are Changin’

Leave a Reply

