Blueberry Clafoutis

First of all, let’s address the elephant in the room- what the hell is a clafoutis? Well, from my non-professional understanding, it is a french custard-like dessert.

That’s all I got.

I saw it on a cooking show once and it just looked so delicious that I had to try it. That recipe was for apricots and was baked all together. The cream was also lemony, but I prefer vanilla so I adapted it to what I thought would be more pleasing.

When I first made it, I didn’t know what to expect and I imagine that it’s probably going to be a little bit of an odd (good odd!) experience for you, too. The flavor is that of a custard, but the texture is thicker. I would say it’s like a mix of creme brulee and vanilla cake. Add some blueberries and fresh whipped cream and you’ve got yourself a good time.

A lot of recipes do call for using one dish, so you can throw everything together if you’d like. I like single serve everything because then I am not compelled to eat the entire pan.

_DSC4497

Saying I had 4 single serve clafoutis doesn’t sound nearly as gluttonous. Plus, you can kind of customize each one by adding more/less fruit or throwing in some other berries to make sure every one gets what they want.

The best part about this though, is the ease of making it. It’s really nothing to whip it up as a fun (and fruity!) weeknight dessert.

The custard takes a little bit of care because you need to separate your egg whites and yolks, setting the whites aside for last. But that’s really the most difficult part.

With your yolks, take them and beat together with your sugar until it gets fluffy.

_DSC4494

I wanted to make sure I got a picture of it whipping because you can see that it starts to get an almost custard-y consistency already; this is what you want.

To that, add your flour, cream, and vanilla, making sure that it is well combined.

Finally, you bring the egg whites back in. Now, I will admit that my way is wrong. It is different from any other recipe that I looked at, but you know what? It still tastes freaking delicious and it’s way easier so F those other recipes.

Most call for slightly whipping the whites and adding them slowly. No, no, no. I add my egg whites into the mixture and just give it a good 10 second beating. It gives them the fluffiness they need, while incorporating them into the mix but it isn’t enough to ruin anything.

Talk about innovation.

_DSC4499

It’s going to come out like runny pancake batter, and that’s okay. Just pour it right over your fruit.

_DSC4500

Don’t worry about trying to cover the berries because they will just ooze out anyway.

SIDE NOTE: I used too many berries. My kids go nuts for blueberries, so I tried to appease them. My actual recipe doesn’t call for nearly this much and you will thank me. You can really do what you want though.

While baking, they puff up a little and you might have a moment of “oh shit.” But give them a minute to settle.

_DSC4509

And you definitely want to serve them warm and fresh because custard anything just doesn’t do well with time.

_DSC4533

Throw some fresh whip cream on top and voila. Incroyable.

Recipe

1/2 cup fresh blue berries

3 eggs

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup heavy cream

3 tbsp flour

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 375

Grease dishes with oil/butter of your choosing (or that spray stuff, I don’t judge) and place berries in bottom

Separate egg yolks and whites

Place yolks in mixer and combine on high with sugar until fluffy

Add cream, flour, and vanilla and mix on low until combined

Add in egg whites and mix on high for about 10-15 seconds

Pour mixture evenly over berries

Bake For 25-30 minutes

Leave a Reply

