French Toast Sticks

Think back to your school days…

Now think about those magnificent school lunches- the ones that were loaded with sugar, carbs, and chemicals; the ones that us parents now cringe thinking about and refuse to let our children eat…

Yeah, those were the days.

But if there was ONE meal that stuck out to you, what would it be? Think real hard, now.

….

If French Toast Sticks don’t come to mind, then I’m sorry about your childhood.

I can still remember the jubilation felt in the room when someone read the menu out loud and we found out it was French Toast Day.

Orrrr I could be imagining that, I don’t know. What I do know is that I was always pretty damn pumped.

ANYWAY, think about the last time you had these babies. Been a while, huh?

Lucky for you, I am the most nostalgic person on the planet and couldn’t bare to see you all live another day without them.

I will admit, my recipe isn’t nearly as good, but I can promise you that you won’t ever question just what it is you’re eating. All that matters is that they are delicious, and dipping them in that syrup will take you right back to the glory days.

Really, I feel like I’m kind of cheating by hyping these guys up because it’s literally just french toast cut into strips. That’s it, that’s my big secret.

But my French Toast is still pretty awesome.

I don’t recommend using regular sandwich bread. You can, but there’s better options. I usually get a big fluffy Italian loaf because it’s got a nice spongy texture that soaks up the egg really well.

Cut that into about 1/2 inch slices and then slice those slices in half. Slice.

_DSC6231

The mixture is really super simple too. I use a mixer to save some leg work, but a hand whisk or a fork will honestly work just as well.

Just toss all your ingredients in the bowl and whip it til the eggs are broken up.

_DSC6235

It doesn’t look like much now, but all those yummy flavors are going to be sooooo good!

As far as making that happen, I like to put a few slices at a time onto a plate. Laying them flat allows for optimal soak-age without risking them breaking apart. As the bread gets moist, it becomes fragile so be careful!

_DSC6237

One mistake that a lot of people make is not letting their bread soak long enough or in enough liquid. Just because it’s covered in egg, doesn’t mean it’s good. You want that to really get in throughout every speck of that bread. So let it sit in a good amount of the mix for about 2 minutes on each side.

If you’ve got a griddle, now is the time to break it out! These are perfect for it because you can cook a lot at once.

_DSC6238

Just like with pancakes, you want to try to only flip once. BUT you also want them to cook throughout without burning. So, keep the heat no higher than medium.

_DSC6240

It’s pretty much smooth sailing from there on out. When you’re done, just pile those babies up and get to dipping!

_DSC6247

SIDE NOTE: these are an AWESOME handheld kids’ breakfast for lazy moms (like me!). Kids don’t know what syrup is yet, so I try to avoid letting them dip with the reward of “but you don’t have to sit at the table!”

They eat that shit up, trust me.

And as another bonus; they freeze well too, so make a bunch at a time and keep them in the freezer for a quick treat!

Recipe

8 half-inch slices of Italian bread/ sliced into halves (or thirds for larger loaves)

6 eggs

1/4 cup cream

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp cinnamon

Dredge slices in egg mixture on a plate, about 2 minutes on each side or until soaked through

Cook on buttered griddle/skillet at medium-low, 5 minutes on each side.

 

Leave a Reply

