The Perfect Filet Mignon

Well folks, I’ve got some good news and I’ve got some bad news…

The good news is, it looks like we are going to be moving into a gorgeous new home where I will have a kitchen that (modest) dreams are made of!

The bad news is, with a new budget comes some budget cuts. While we get used to our new situation, I’ve made the decision to stretch my grocery budget a little farther and I don’t think fancy meat really fits into that equation!

But thankfully, filet mignon is one of those things that you only need every so often because it is just so amazingly satisfying.

And if you’re a steak lover, you owe it to yourself to indulge in one of these bad boys every now and again.. I just want to make sure you do it right while I can still afford it!

First lets cover the basics; what makes this cut of meat SO delicious that I NEED it in my life?

I’ll be honest, this is something I struggled with for a long time. I really believed that no meat was worth the money places charge for this. I mean, a steak is a steak… right?

WRONG!

The filet comes from a part of the cow that doesn’t do much work, thus it’s super, SUPER tender. Like, you can not even imagine the tenderness until you bite in for the first time and it blows you away. HOW CAN STEAK BE THIS PERFECT?!

I think it also feels much lighter than most beef, so you don’t feel like you just gorged yourself. And a tiny little steak goes such a long way because of how satisfying it is. Where as most steaks leave you wanting more, with the filet you’ll just be thankful for the experience.

As far as cooking it, this is less a recipe and more a technique. You want to treat these steaks with lots of TLC and I don’t want no scrubs ruining this experience for you.

The first thing you want to do is let your steak sit out and get to room temperature. This is so that the entire thing can cook at the same pace. If the inside is still cold, it’s going to take longer to get where it needs to be and thus you risk overcooking.

Once you think they’re good to go on that front, heat your oven and pan. You want the pan to get nice and hot so that you can get a good sear. And if you have a cast iron pan, USE IT! Cast iron is THE best for steaks because it makes an awesome crust.

For the seasonings, keep it simple. I don’t think anything should take away from the flavor of the actual meat so I brush on some melted butter and then generously salt and pepper both sides.

_DSC7358

Then, plop it into the pan.

You want a really nice sear, but you don’t want it to burn at all so I rotate it twice on each side for about 2-3 minutes each rotation._DSC7363

After the second rotation, put it into a hot oven. I’m usually careless about preheating the oven but it’s important to not slow the cooking process, so make sure that’s done in advance. I buy thinner steaks and keep them in the oven about 8 minutes.

When you take them out, you also want to let them sit. This will keep all of the juices inside and let them redistribute throughout the meat. If you cut it right away, these juices will just pour out and thus, flavor is lost.

A good filet mignon is always pink in the middle. If you’re one of those “well-done” folks, get to stepping because you have no business here. I do cook mine a little longer than a lot of people, but I like it pink-not raw.

_DSC7377

And that’s what you get. See how the juices aren’t gushing out? It does a little as you cut it, but as long as it rests they will be pretty well locked in.

Like I mentioned earlier, this is a super light cut of meat and I never serve it with anything other than fresh, steamed, lightly salted veggies. Usually green beans or asparagus. It is such a simple meal, but I promise you will enjoy every.single.second!

SIDE NOTE: If you’re local to the Ephrata area, I HIGHLY recommend checking out Meadow Run Farm. Their beef is all grass fed on the farm and well priced. AND they package their filets individually in varying sizes so you can get only what you need!

Recipe (for two)

2 filet mignon steaks

1 tbsp melted butter

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350 and heat pan on the stove

Lightly brush butter over each side of the steak and generously salt and pepper

Place into a HOT pan and sear about 2-3 minutes on each side twice

Transfer pan into oven and allow to cook for another 8 minutes (about 6 if you prefer it “still mooing.”

Once removed from the oven, transfer to a plate and cover with foil. Let sit about 10 minutes

 

Leave a Reply

