Ricotta Zeppole

Let me start out by saying… This is hands down, the most delicious pastry that I have EVER made. Ever.

The first time I tried these, I was skeptical. I am just not a sweet cheese person and I feel like cheese should be savory and that is that.

I had some ricotta in my fridge that I needed to do something with and zeppoles seemed quick and easy enough that I wouldn’t feel bad throwing them all out.

That didn’t happen because I was blown away by how amazing they were and needless to say, I’ve never looked back.

The texture is so light and fluffy, but the taste is almost like a gourmet funnel cake. The combo is seriously out of this world.

Even as I sit here, I can’t stop eating them!!!

I’d love to give you some cute little story or funny antics, but really I’m just going to push the fact that you NEEEEED these in your life. That’s really all there is to it.

Cancel all your plans, go buy some ricotta and get to frying.

While fried desserts might seem a little intimidating, do not fear. This is so simple, so you have no excuses. Literally the hardest part is making sure your pan is hot enough.

I use a cast iron skillet for all of my frying, but any pan will do. Put about an inch of coconut oil in the bottom and get that heating up while you start the batter.

Now, you CAN use vegetable or canola, but I don’t recommend it. Aside from it’s magical powers that the internet has given it, it does heat at a higher temperature so it won’t get smoky. It also contributes a nice flavor to the end result.

For your batter, start by beating your eggs until they get foamy.

_DSC7660

To that, add all of your dry ingredients and mix.

_DSC7662

At this stage, it’s going to be dry and kind of clumpy but that dreaded Ricotta comes in to save the day.

_DSC7664

You’re going to need to scrape the sides a couple times, but it should end up looking like a really thick pancake batter.

For getting it into the pan, I use an ice cream scooper that has the little release thing. Sorry, I don’t know what their technical name is but you get the idea.

I also smother it with more coconut oil so none of the batter sticks to it. Less waste, you know?

_DSC7665

You want about a heaping teaspoon of batter, I just fill it half way.

For dolloping into the oil, don’t worry about keeping it perfectly round. When they puff up, they’re going to do their own thing anyway. Just focus on keeping the size consistent.

The process goes super quick, so I only do four at a time and rotate them about 30 seconds on each side. If one side doesn’t look brown enough, just flip it back over.

You just want a really consistent golden brown.

_DSC7676

This is about 10 seconds after the first flip and you can see how they really start to puff and look a little funny. This is how you know you got it right!

All in all, each one probably cooks only about 2-3 minutes. Surprisingly, they don’t get very greasy at all, but throw them onto a towel just in case.

_DSC7674

This is the inside! How amazing does that look, seriously?!

They’re definitely best served warmed and sprinkled with powdered sugar.

_DSC7682

If you make one recipe that I’ve provided you. This is the one. Or don’t, but it’s your loss.

Recipe

2 eggs

1 cup flour

2tsp baking powder

1/3 cup sugar

3/4 cup ricotta cheese

1 tsp vanilla extract

1-2 cups coconut oil (for frying-depends on your pan size)

1/4 cup powdered sugar (for topping)

Heat 1 inch of oil in pan

In a large bowl, beat eggs until foamy

Add dry ingredients and combine

Mix in cheese and vanilla

Dollop batter into hot pan, about 1 tsp per cookie

Let cook about 30 seconds on each side until golden all around (2-3 minutes total)

Let cool on towel and sprinkle with powdered sugar before serving

Leave a Reply

