Fresh Blueberry Muffins

I’m baaaaaack!! Sort of. I never really went anywhere, but I took a little break to focus on getting my head on straight. Moving takes a LOT out of you, and on top of that, I got a new job. Things have been pretty crazy, so there has been more pizza eating in my house than normal. I haven’t given up on you guys, just needed some time to recoup.

And while I haven’t been SHARING recipes, I have been continuing to come up with some good material. It’s become a matter of making sure that I have all of the ingredients, my camera ready, and all of my children behaving at the same time. I’m usually good for one but never all three.

Plus, I really want to make sure that what I’m posting on here is stuff that everyone wants to see and is actually going to make. I’ve tried varying approaches to see what people like, and what they don’t. So, in coming out of hibernation, I wanted to start simple with recipes that most people always think about making but never do. Like this one, blueberry muffins.

How many of us use this as our go-to breakfast when we’re in a pinch? Don’t act like you’re not guilty. For me, I used to stop at starbucks more mornings than I would like to admit and this perfect little muffin became a staple in my life. Well now that I live and work in Amishville, USA… the sketchy gas station with 3 day old egg and cheese biscuits is my only option. Thanks, but I’ll starve.

….Except not really because I have a serious case of the hangries, and no-one wants to see this without food. Kind of perfectly though, blueberries happen to be in full bloom this time of year so I decided to start making my own. It’s a little more painstaking and they don’t taste as good without my machiatto, but they sure are delicious!

Not to mention, how freaking domesticated do I look going full little red riding hood bringing fresh baked muffins in a pretty basket?

Realistically, I’m the wolf and they rarely make it to the car, but like… minor details.

OK, I’m rambling- to the recipe!

Start with fresh, Lancaster County blueberries. Or wherever you get them, but we do it best.

_DSC0509

Ok, technically those come into play way later, so sit them aside and ogle their beauty.

This is pretty much like any other baked goods recipe- mix your wets and dries, then add them together.

For your wet ingredients, though, since it requires melted butter, you want to be careful. Make sure your butter has had a chance to cool off a little before mixing with the sugar. This will ensure that you don’t  scramble the eggs when you add them.

Once you’ve got those together, add your vanilla and butter milk and mix well. You can use regular milk or cream, but buttermilk makes them taste a little pancakey and I do love me some pancakes.

Once that mixture is smooth, add your dry ingredients. Technically, I should tell you to mix these together before hand but I have never once in my life followed this rule, so I’m about to start pretending. Sorry.

The consistency is going to be really creamy and luscious. You just know these are going to be amazing.

_DSC0479

To that, gently fold in the blueberries.

_DSC0480

Now, as far as the pan- I make mini muffins because I have mini people who can never have just one of anything. I also choose to grease the pan instead of wasting paper wrappers. If you’re making them for someone or giving them away, definitely use wrappers but it just seems wasteful otherwise…

_DSC0495

Either way, fill them at least 3/4 of the way up so they can get a nice dome.

Approximately 14 minutes later….

_DSC0500

Cue the Belinda Carlisle….

My girl.

Usually, I like to slather my muffins with butter but these are so buttery and perfect, you don’t even have to. Perfect for on the go!

Recipe

2 cups flour

1/4 tsp salt

1 tbsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

1 cup buttermilk

1 stick melted butter

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup fresh blueberries

Preheat oven to 425

Combine melted butter and brown sugar in a mixing bowl

Add eggs while mixing

Once combined, add buttermilk and vanilla

Add dry ingredients and mix until creamy

Fold in blueberries

Spoon mixture into lined or greased pan about 3/4 of the way

Bake until tops start to become golden brown

 

Leave a Reply

