Greek Tacos

Well summer is officially in full swing and it. is. HOT. Like the kind of hot where the thought of cooking or eating anything is repulsive.

Personally, I’m one of those really annoying people who is miserable when the temperature is anywhere outside of the 77-84 degree range. Anything less, I freeze; anything more, and I want to kill everyone and everything. Yes, I am that dramatic.

Thankfully survival mode kicks in, and I remember that I still have to eat. Most sweltering summer nights, I just hand the kids a bowl of fruit and lay on the kitchen floor like a dog because I refuse to lower my thermostat. I trick them into thinking this is a really special dinner night, so they totally love it.

Since this is only day ONE of a week long heat wave, I knew I had to start off strong with some kind of actual meal-type food. I like these greek tacos for this because they’re easy, fresh, and super chill.

The cold crispy veggies, paired with grilled chicken is so heavenly. And the kids hear “taco” and are all like, “omg you’re the best mom ever.” And I’m like… hehehehe.

First things first is the chicken. I marinade mine overnight in caesar dressing to give chicken time to absorb the flavors. I HIGHLY recommend this route, but I also know that this is far easier said than done. If you’re in a pinch… Just slice the chicken before grilling, and let it sit in the dressing for as long as you have. (at least 15 minutes).

I throw that on the grill before getting started on everything else so that by the time its cooked and cool enough to cut, you’ll be ready to assemble.

TIP: this would also be perfect for leftover chicken!

Now, the slaw is really the only maybe-greek part about it and I don’t know if it’s even really greek. Think John Stamos; we all think he’s greek because Full House told us so, but we don’t really know how much truth there is to it. Basically, I call them greek tacos because of the yogurt. If it’s good enough for Uncle Jesse, it’s good enough for me.

For that, start by slicing your cabbage really thin.

_DSC0631

Then shred in some carrots. (No pics because I’m forgetful. You get the idea though.)

Then, work on the sauce; greek yogurt, lemon, cucumbers, salt and pep.

_DSC0634

I always add the cucumber to this because they’re juicy and I want that juice in the juice. Ya follow?

This is where things get superrrrrr complicated. Stay with me, okay?

Take that yogurt sauce…. and dump it in your cabbage.

_DSC0635

BAM. Slaw. This is also really delicious cole slaw just to eat, so keep that in mind for your next BBQ. (still no carrots…)

By now your chicken should be done, so give that a rough chop.

_DSC0642

From there, we assemble!

_DSC0647

Have mercy.

Is that a greek thing to say?

Also, you can see I finally remembered my carrot! And I topped it with tomato because it adds another layer of freshness and color.

To be honest, these are some of the best “tacos” that I’ve ever made. They are so crisp and clean, you will finish dinner feeling awesome and ready to book your trip to Santorini!

Or Pita Pit. Because it’s basically the same thing.

Recipe (makes 8 heaping tacos)

2 large chicken breasts

1 cup caesar dressing

1 cup red cabbage

1 cup green cabbage

1 large carrot, shredded

1/4 cup greek dressing

1/2 cup diced cucumber

juice of 1/2 lemon

8 tortillas

Marinade chicken in caesar dressing- 15 mins to overnight

Grill chicken, cool, and chop

For slaw:

Shred cabbage and carrots, set aside

Mix yogurt, lemon, cucumber and salt and pepper; toss with cabbage

Place chicken on tortillas and top with slaw

 

 

Leave a Reply

