French Onion Chicken and Potato Bake

Do you ever have those days where everything you do just needs to require as little work as possible? For me, Sundays are always those days. I wake up in the morning like, “ahhh another beautiful day off….” and then by like 9:30am, I enter that pre-Monday depression where I just want to hide under a rock and figure out how I can make enough money in the next twelve hours to quit my job before the week starts.

Obv that still hasn’t happened. As I type this, I’m secretly hoping this recipe will have 6 million views by morning and Crate and Barrel (or Kmart, my standards aren’t that high) will wake me up at 5am to say they NEED me to help them immediately develop a line of cookware or some other cool shit. If people buy pots with Paula Dean’s face on it, I can surely sell a couple.

But literally all day I’ve been back and fourth like, “yeah that could totally happen” and “get the f*%@ over it, you suck at cooking and have got 40 more years of this crap.” It’s a really miserable existence.

Needless to say, days like this aren’t really my fancy cooking days. I want to do as little as possible so I have more time to make unrealistic plans for myself. Like running for senate or opening a fitness studio, both other options I am considering. #voteforcayti

Thankfully, this recipe is SO easy. The only real effort you have to put forth is cutting the veggies, all of the flavor is right in the secret ingredient; french onion soup mix!!

_DSC1028

You can buy whatever kind you can find. I got this pack from Brecknock Orchards and it’s so good. With it all being pre-packaged for you, it kind of feels like you’re making hamburger helper except it’s actually really good for you, so you will have one less reason to hate yourself.

Easy. Comfort food. Healthy. It’s like a dinner time Hat Trick!

Because there are so few ingredients, keep everything diced relatively large. I like the idea of being able to have one piece of everything per bite, so that’s how I determine size.

_DSC1022

And while this is baked, I like to start it on the stove top just to give those taters a nice crisp on the outside. Toss them into your hot, oiled skillet for a few minutes.

Once they start to brown, add your chicken, onions, and soup mix.

_DSC1032

Just toss it all together and throw it in the oven! That’s it. The juices from the chicken will keep everything nice and moist and the mix will start to thicken, almost turning it into a sauce. I mix it up about two times throughout the baking process, just to keep the flavors going.

_DSC1044

By the time it’s done, everything will be tender and golden and just delightful. For a little bonus, throw it over some brown rice or quinoa. De-lish. Add fresh Rosemary if you’re fancy enough to handle it. I’m (clearly) so fancy… you already know.

_DSC1055

For the record, ALL THREE of my children asked for seconds. And cleaned their plates. And there was no complaining.

Recipe

2 large chicken breasts

1lb red potatoes

1 sweet onion

1 package (~3 tablespoons) french onion soup mix

Preheat oven to 400

Dice ingredients to your preferred bite size

Saute potatoes in oil until slightly browned

Add remaining ingredients, toss to coat with soup mix

Place in oven and bake for about 30 minutes or until veggies are tender

Eat as is or serve over rice or quinoa

 

 

Leave a Reply

