Shortbread Cookie Cups with Lemon Mascarpone

If you don’t like blueberries, you’re probably not going to have a very good time with me. They are so cheap and versatile and delicious, so it’s hard not to be obsessed. But one of the things that I like to do is help people capitalize on what they have access to, and right now- blueberries are EVERYWHERE.

Another thing that I really want to do is show people their potential by opening up doors they thought they never could. In other words, working with ingredients that are a little intimidating.

Mascarpone is one thing that I shuttered at for years. I first learned about it like I’ve learned most of what I know; watching the Food Network. But the people I would watch use it were professionals. They knew what they were doing and I never would… or so I thought.

I think that’s how most of us feel, though. We watch how simple these things are to use, but the idea that the people using them have the knowledge and skill to do so makes us feel like we don’t stand a chance. I think that it is important to tear down these walls and show you how a normal, everyday person could use these fancy schmancy ingredients to make really tasty treats.

Plus, come on… How awesome would you feel telling people, “oh that’s just some fresh lemon mascarpone that I whipped up.” Nbd.

You basically sound like you’re the shit and I already want to be your best friend. See, when you use things that scare you, it brings out the best in you and you build so much confidence; that’s what we’re gonna do with this recipe.

First, let’s introduce you to our key ingredient; mascarpone (mas-car-po-nay). If you’re having trouble just sing out loud, “Now watch me whip (whip), and mas-car-po-nay.”

You’ll never forget that shit… trust me.

_DSC1237

It can be found in the fancy cheese section of any grocery store, and it comes in a tub like this. As for taste, I think of it kind of like a really bland, but amazingllyyyy creamy cream cheese. Really, it doesn’t do much for the flavor (that’s what the lemon is for) but it is needed to give this the creamiest texture possible.

And to sound fancy, basically. But this will come into play later.

You want to start by making your cookie cups. This is just a good shortbread cookie…

_DSC1239

…ground up…

_DSC1240

…mixed with melted butter, and pressed into a muffin pan.

_DSC1244

Bake those for about 10-15 minutes to let them get firm.

You can definitely make these ahead of time because they need to be totally cooled.

Now, the best part!!!!

The cream is actually equal parts mascarpone and cream cheese. You can use all mascarpone, but it’s more expensive and I don’t want to scare you away from trying this!!

Start by creaming the cream cheese, and then whip (whip) in the mascarpone until its nice and… well, creamy. Then, your powdered sugar.

When it’s nice and smooth, we add our lemon zest and juice.

Because I know some of you are broke like me… if you don’t have a zester, use a sharp knife to slice off VERY thin pieces of zest and chop them up really, really, really small.

If you don’t have a sharp knife.. grow up and win one from a pinterest contest like a real adult. (hint: that’s the only reason I have mine!)

Mix that in really well, and voila..

_DSC1248

If you don’t eat it right out of the bowl like this, you’re ready to assemble. This step has about a 60% failure rate. Make extra.

I use a ziplock bag to pipe it in the cups, but feel free to spoon it.

_DSC1258

Top with fresh blueberries and you are good to goo! I also add fresh basil as a pretty garnish because I LOVE basil and lemon together. I don’t eat it, but the aroma is too good.

There you have it, folks; a simple and adorable way to create the perfect summer treat that is sure to impress even the most sophisticated palettes.

Recipe

2 cups ground or crushed shortbread cookies

1/2 stick butter, melted

8oz mascarpone

8oz cream cheese

1/2-3/4 cup powdered sugar

juice and zest of one lemon

1/2 cup fresh blueberries

Preheat oven to 350

Combined cookie crumbs with melted butter and press into muffin pan, creating a cup shape. Bake for 10-15 minutes and cool

For the cream, whip cream cheese and mascarpone until smooth. Add sugar

Whip in lemon juice and zest and whip until creamy

Pipe or spoon cream into cups

Top with fresh blueberries

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

