“Copy Cat” Pan Pizza

Remember that show from the 90’s, Keenan and Kel? The one where Kel was obsessed with orange and every time someone would say, “who loves orange soda?” he would say, “I do, I do, I do-ooo.”

That’s basically how I feel about Pizza Hut. I don’t know what kind of crack they put in that stuff to make it so addicting, but I cannot eat one piece without following up with ten more. I literally could eat myself into oblivion with that pizza.

Unfortunately, the stuff is less than stellar for your body, so I have spent the past few years convincing myself that it’s “not that good, anyway.”

As fate would have it, a couple summers ago, I was living the super-mom life visiting the Litiz Farmer’s Market in search of organic produce when I, naturally, sniffed out the only carb-overloaded stand there. It was Thom’s Bread; a local bread company I’m guessing run by God, because the bread is heavenly.

_DSC2037

I always try to be way fancier than I am, though, so I got a loaf of foccacia. When I got home and realized I had no idea what to do with it, I did what I do with all of my mystery breads- pizza!

I figured it would be good, but I had NO clue what I was about to discover. In that first bite, my taste buds spiraled out of control as they recognized exactly what was happening. THIS WAS PIZZA HUT PAN PIZZA!!! Except…. it wasn’t.

It was locally made bread (not the best thing that you could eat, but definitely less bad for you than pizza crack), organic marinara, and real whole-milk cheese. That’s it. I knew exactly what I was eating, and it tasted just like the real thing.

It was honestly a magical moment because I felt really good about feeding this stuff to my kids, but it still feels like a total indulgence. I mean it when I say that you cannot tell a difference between the two!!

Now, clearly, the most important part of this recipe is the bread. I’ve had other focaccia and nothing really compares to Thom’s. It’s fluffy and flavorful, and has the right amount of oil to mimic the greasiness of the pan pizza.

_DSC2038

LOOK AT THIS BREAD! Is your mouth watering, yet?

From each loaf, you get two “pizzas” after you cut it right in half. Use whatever sauce and cheese you like, and feel free to load on the toppings!

_DSC2042

Then, just bake.

_DSC2046

It’s literally that easy, and you can have “pan” pizza any day of the week- and actually feel good about it! Who knew?

Who loves homemade pan pizza?? I do, I do, I doooooooo.

Recipe

1 loaf Thom’s Focaccia bread

1/2 cup marinara sauce

2 cups shredded mozzarella

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Cut loaf in half, spread on sauce and cheese

Bake until cheese is melted or about 10 minutes

Leave a Reply

