30 Minute, Just-Like-the-Can Chicken Noodle Soup

There are two types of people in this world; crock pot people, and 0h-shit-what-do-we-eat-for-dinner people. Last winter sometime I posted my favorite crockpot chicken noodle soup recipe, so I thought it was only fair to cater to the other 99.9% of you.

And mostly I wanted chicken soup, but I am soooo not a crock pot person. HOW DOES ANYONE HAVE TIME FOR THAT?!?!

The most important thing about the soup that I was craving at the time of this recipe, though, was that it needed to be from the can. Something about canned soup just reminds me of the good old days.

And let’s get one thing straight, I’m not above eating from a can. Or a bag. But I have three boys who eat like horses, and I do try to buy healthier versions of things, so by the time it’s all said and done, a canned soup dinner will cost me like $20.

Making it myself ran me about $6. Andd we have leftovers.

The key to making soup that tastes like it’s from a can is basically to use the cheapest ingredients possible. Because, in case you didn’t know- that’s pretty much how those companies make money.

So for the chicken, go with the thighs. They have SO much good flavor, they don’t need to cook for a long time to taste good. Just fry those babies up in your pan with some oil, salt, and pep.

They are going to leave behind lots of yummy residue that is going to help add some home cooked flavor to our soup:

_dsc2351

It looks super gross, but trust me. Toss your veggies (onion, carrots, celery) right in there and let them start to soften. This will help limit the time they have to boil. Boiling carrots takes foreverrrrrr, so I do what I can to keep it short and sweet.

_dsc2353

Nice and hot.

Once those soften up, throw in your garlic. I always make this the last step because burnt garlic is yuck. Not that I’ve done it a few dozen times or anything….

After about a minute, add the stock. Boxed, of course. The cool thing is, you can still get organic stock for pretty cheap, so you don’t have to feel bad making this one of your go-to healthy meals.

Even though this is a quick meal, I still let that boil for about 10-15 minutes. In the meantime, get working on the noodles.

I use GIANT Fusilli.

_dsc2362

Doesn’t that scream “CANNED SOUP!?” Does it? I feel like it does.

The next step, you can probably guess.. just toss it all together!

One super secret step that I add, because all canned soup tends to have that one really weird ingredient no one eats… Is throw in a handful of spinach. Chop it up and it melts into really fine pieces and adds some more, like, vitamins and minerals or something.

_dsc2365

This is your end product. Can you even tell whether or not I poured a can of progresso into a pan and made this all up?!

Also, how gorgeous is that ladle? I got that for myself “for my Birthday” two months before my actual birthday. I’ve been dying to use it ever since, but it’s too pretty. The things I do for you guys….

 

Because I love it so much, heres a bonus behind the scenes photo with my spelfie stick (spoon selfie).

_dsc2372

When Kim Kardashian makes that a thing, just remember who did it first.

As for the soup…

_dsc2370

This stuff might be better than the kind that takes all day. I’d love to keep typing, but I’m gonna go have another bowl.

Recipe

2 chicken thighs

1 pkg large fusilli pasta

1 cup diced carrots

1 cup diced onions

1/2 cup diced celery

2 cloves garlic

4 cups chicken stock

(optional) 1/2 cup chopped spinach

Salt and pepper to taste

In a large oiled pot, cook chicken with salt and pepper

When done, remove chicken and set aside (dice when cool)

In the same pan, add veggies until they start to soften

Add garlic, mix, and then add stock. Let boil for about 10-15 minutes

(if adding spinach, do so just before adding pasta)

Meanwhile, cook pasta according to package

When veggies are tender and noodles are done, mix together

 

Leave a Reply

